Friday, 17 September 2010

Invitation to Participate in Maritime Moots 2011, Singapore

The following is an invitation to take part in the Maritime Moots 2011 which will be held in Singapore, hosted jointly by NUS and Murdoch University, to which I have of course replied that UiTM will be sending a team. Here is the invitation:

September 2010

School of Law
South Street, Murdoch
Western Australia 6150
Telephone: +61 8 9360 6050
Facsimilie: +61 8 9310 6671

The Murdoch University School of Law is pleased to invite your law school to compete in the
12th International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot Competition. The Competition will be
hosted by our colleagues at the Faculty of Law at the National University of Singapore
(NUS), Asia’s Global Law School. Singapore is an amazing and vibrant city, of great
significance for regional and global trade with the port in Singapore being the busiest in the
world .The student teams are bound to have an incredible experience in this city.

In 2010 the competition was organised by the Murdoch University School of Law and hosted
by the University of Technology, Sydney. Our largest field ever, 19 teams from 7 nations
competed in the event. The competitors were:

University of Technology, Sydney
Queensland University of Technology
University of Queensland
University of Malaya
University of Hong Kong
The University of Notre Dame Australia
University of Melbourne
National University of Singapore
Gujarat National Law University
University of Western Sydney
City University of Hong Kong
Universitas Gadjah Mada
Universitas Indonesia
Murdoch University
National Law University Jodhpur
MARA University of Technology (UiTM)
University of Sydney
University of Southampton
Universitas Padjadjaran

In 2010, the grand final of the competition was won by the National University Singapore.

The key elements of the competition are:

• The problem will be released in early December 2010
• The teams prepare a 25 page memoranda in support of both the claimant and
the respondent, due in April. These memoranda are judged by an international
panel who determine the best written memoranda prizes.
• The teams attend the oral competition at the host university. Each team argues
four times in the general rounds, twice for the claimant and twice for the
respondent. Distinguished members of the legal profession, judiciary and
shipping industry participate as arbitrators.

Awards are presented in the following categories:

• Best written memoranda, and runners up
• Highest Ranked team in the General Rounds
• Best speaker in the General Rounds
• Encouragement Award( team and/or individual) and the Sarah Derrington Award
• Best speaker in the Finals and the Ron Salter Award
• Runner Up - Best speaker in the Finals
• Runner up Team - Orals
• Winning Team – Orals
• Spirit of the Moot award
• Achievement awards (individual and/or team)

The moot is a competition open to any law students (either undergraduate or postgraduate)
who have not been admitted to practice. The moot problem will involve a dispute relating to
commercial maritime law and the controversy will be determined before an arbitral tribunal
pursuant to the L.M.A.A. terms (2006) or other recognised terms. Students need not have
previously studied maritime law and in fact several past winning teams had no prior
knowledge of maritime law before undertaking the moot.

An enjoyable social program accompanies the competition to enable students to meet with
senior members of the profession and the maritime industry and to forge contacts with
students from other law schools. We pride ourselves on running a friendly but intellectually
rigorous competition which gives a real insight into this fascinating area of law.

Details of the competition, together with the registration form for 2011, can be found at: The website also contains the
problem from previous years and the winning memoranda.

Enquiries about registration should be forwarded to the moot’s co-ordinator, Miriam Everall: .

I hope your Law School will consider participating in this competition. I look forward to
welcoming your team to Singapore in 2011!

Yours sincerely

Dr Kate Lewins
Moot Director

No comments: